The Fraunhofer Cyber Range Team

Our trainers are high-level practitioners and security experts from Fraunhofer SIT, one of Germany’s leading research Institutes, and the affiliated National Research Center for Applied Cybersecurity ATHENE. You will benefit from their deep insights and expertise as all our trainers conduct research in the area of applied cybersecurity defense and offense.

Additionally, our trainer team is familiar with the tasks of the SOC center which is operated the Fraunhofer Society and its over 70 Institutes. This gives you the insights from practitioners who focus on delivering the highest security measures.


Prof. Dr. Haya Shulman

Director of the Fraunhofer Cyber Range

Prof. Dr. Haya Shulman is a professor in the Department of Computer Science at Goethe University Frankfurt since February 2022 and holds a LOEWE top professorship.

She is the director of the Cybersecurity Analytics and Defences (CAD) department at the Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology SIT in Darmstadt and head of the Analytics Based Cybersecurity research area at the National Applied Cybersecurity Research Center ATHENE, as well as Fraunhofer SIT's deputy representative at ATHENE. Haya Shulman is an expert in Internet Security, develops new network security tools and publishes regularly on the top international conferences. Born and trained in the Cybernation Israel she is also the director of the Fraunhofer Project Center in Jerusalem

Contact us


Ranim Chakra

Cyber-security researcher at Fraunhofer SIT and Technische Universität Darmstadt. Her research focuses on securing interdomain routing and internet measurements. Prior to that, she worked as a cyber-security analyst in Security Operation Centers (SOCs) and as a researcher for smart grid security.


Carsten Schmidt

Carsten Schmidt is a studied mathematician. As a PhD student in the research training group 2050 of the DRG (Privacy and Trust for Mobile Users), he takes a closer look at core infrastructures and protocols that are widely deployed in the internet, aiming to secure them cryptographically.

Furthermore, Carsten is involved in teaching at the TU Darmstadt and organized some courses for students.


Marcel Vollmer

Marcel Vollmer completed his Master's degree in Applied Computer Science at the FH Südwestfalen. During his studies, he worked on an Android spy app to check Android's security measures.
He was also involved in the European research project gen6, which dealt with the implementation of IPv6 with IPSec in transport mode.
Together with Prof. Dr. Jörg Schwenk from the Ruhr University Bochum, he conducted a security analysis of the Kerberos implementation under Microsoft Windows.
He is a security researcher at Fraunhofer SIT with a focus on inter domain routing.


Thomas Dexheimer

Thomas Dexheimer is Certified TeleTrust Information Professional. After studying computer science with a focus on cryptography and communication networks, he specialized as a researcher at the Fraunhofer Institute SIT in the areas of smart devices and embedded security, conducting numerous security analyses of hardware and software systems. Most recently, he held numerous seminars and workshops on IT security topics related to Industry 4.0 for the Mittelstand 4.0 Competence Center Darmstadt.


Alexander Mazal

Alexander Mazal is a software engineer. His focus is the development of software that is secure by design. He worked as a software developer in a company that develops automated reporting software for industry. In his career, he specialized in different areas such as Microsoft Security Development Lifecycle (SDL), low-level programming and database communication.

Alexander works as a Blue Team Trainer in the Cybersecurity Analytics and Defences department of Fraunhofer SIT, where he delivers insights from a programmer's perspective as part of his training work on the Cyber Range.​


Fraunhofer SIT also runs three hacking groups that regularly publish vulnerabilities and advisories on the world leading conferences like Black Hat or Defcon. Additionally, the Institute possesses expertise in software analysis, mobile security, cryptography and IT Forensics.

Communication


M.A. Oliver Küch

PR & Marketing, Innovation Manager at Fraunhofer SIT

Contact us


Ute Richter

Managing Director Digital Hub Cybersecurity

Contact us

Das Fraunhofer Cyber Range Team

Unsere Trainer sind hochkarätige Praktiker und Sicherheitsexpertinnen vom Fraunhofer SIT, einem der führenden Forschungsinstitute für Cybersicherheit und Privatsphärenschutz in Deutschland, und dem angegliederten Nationalen Forschungszentrum für angewandte Cybersicherheit ATHENE. Alle unsere Trainer forschen im Bereich der angewandten Cybersicherheits-Verteidigung und -Offensive. Profitieren Sie in den Trainings von dieser Erfahrungen und Expertise.

Unser Trainerteam ist mit den Aufgaben des SOC-Center vertraut, das die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und ihre über 70 Institute betreibt. Unser Ziele: höchste Sicherheitsmaßnahmen und -standards!


Prof. Dr. Haya Shulman

Leiterin der Fraunhofer Cyber Range

Prof. Dr. Haya Shulman ist seit Februar 2022 Professorin im Fachbereich Informatik an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt und hat eine LOEWE-Top-Professur inne.

Sie ist Leiterin der Abteilung Cybersecurity Analytics and Defences (CAD) am Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informationstechnologie SIT in Darmstadt und Leiterin des Forschungsbereichs Analytics Based Cybersecurity am Nationalen Forschungszentrum für Angewandte Cybersicherheit ATHENE sowie Stellvertreterin des Fraunhofer SIT bei ATHENE. Haya Shulman ist Expertin für Internetsicherheit, entwickelt neue Netzwerksicherheits-Tools und publiziert regelmäßig auf den wichtigsten internationalen Konferenzen. Geboren und ausgebildet in der Cybernation Israel ist sie auch Leiterin des Fraunhofer Project Center in Jerusalem.

Kontaktieren Sie uns


Ranim Chakra

Cyber-Security-Forscherin am Fraunhofer SIT und der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Absicherung von Interdomain-Routing und Internet-Messungen. Davor arbeitete sie als Cybersicherheitsanalystin in Security Operation Center (SOCs) und als Forscherin für Smart Grid Security.


Carsten Schmidt

Carsten Schmidt ist studierter Mathematiker. Als Doktorand im Graduiertenkolleg 2050 der DFG (Privacy and Trust for Mobile Users) beschäftigt er sich damit, Kerninfrastrukturen und -protokolle, die im Internet häufig gebraucht werden, kryptographisch abzusichern.

Carsten ist weiterhin in der Lehre an der TU Darmstadt eingebunden und hat einige Lehrveranstaltungen durchgeführt.


Marcel Vollmer

Marcel Vollmer hat seinen Masterabschluss in Angewandter Informatik an der FH Südwestfalen gemacht. Während seines Studiums arbeitete er an einer Android-Spionage-App, um die Sicherheitsmaßnahmen von Android zu überprüfen.

Außerdem war er beteiligt am europäischen Forschungsprojekt gen6, das sich mit der Implementierung von IPv6 mit IPSec im Transportmodus beschäftigte.

Zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Jörg Schwenk von der Ruhr Universität Bochum führte er eine Sicherheitsanalyse der Kerberos-Implementierung unter Microsoft Windows durch.

Er ist Sicherheitsforscher am Fraunhofer SIT mit dem Schwerpunkt Inter Domain Routing.


Dipl.-Inform. Thomas Dexheimer

Thomas Dexheimer ist zertifizierter TeleTrust Information Professional. Nach dem Informatik-Studium mit den Schwerpunkten Kryptographie und Kommunikationsnetze spezialisierte er sich als Forscher am Fraunhofer-Institut SIT in den Bereichen Smart Devices und Embedded Security, wobei er zahlreiche Sicherheitsanalysen von Hard- und Software-Systemen durchführte. Als Referent des Fraunhofer SIT für das Mittelstand 4.0 Kompetenzzentrum Darmstadt hat sich Thomas bei Seminaren und Workshops zu IT-Sicherheitsthemen rund um Industrie 4.0 engagiert.


Alexander Mazal

Alexander Mazal ist Software-Ingenieur. Sein Fokus ist die Entwicklung von Software, bei der Security von Anfang an mitgedacht wird. Er arbeitete als Softwareentwickler in einem Unternehmen, das automatische Berichtssoftware für die Industrie entwickelt. In seinem beruflichen Werdegang spezialisierte er sich auf verschiedene Bereiche wie den Microsoft Security Development Lifecycle (SDL), Low-Level-Programmierung und Datenbankkommunikation.

Alexander Mazal arbeitet als Blue Team Trainer im Bereich Cybersecurity Analytics and Defences des Fraunhofer SIT, wo er im Rahmen seiner Trainertätigkeit auf der Cyber Range Einblicke aus der Sicht eines Programmierers liefert.


Fraunhofer SIT betreibt außerdem drei Hacking-Gruppen, die regelmäßig Schwachstellen und Hinweise auf den weltweit führenden Konferenzen wie Black Hat oder Defcon veröffentlichen. Darüber hinaus verfügt das Institut über Kompetenzen in den Bereichen Softwareanalyse, Mobile Security, AI, Kryptographie und IT-Forensik.

Communication


M.A. Oliver Küch

PR & Marketing, Innovation Manager beim Fraunhofer SIT

Kontaktieren Sie uns


Ute Richter

Managing Director Digital Hub Cybersecurity

Kontaktieren Sie uns